a:hover (adjusting text color) not working! :(
Posted: 19 May 2008 04:29 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2008-05-19

Well I am very new to CSS and am having some trouble getting the a:hover to work…or at least be consistent… I am running mac OSX and have Safari and Firefox, the a:hover does not work on this…Ive seen on a friends windows computer that SOME of the links on my site came up and some did not… I have a windows laptop (running vista) and none of the link color changes. This is the CSS code that I have used.

}

a:hover {
color: #4B9397;
}

the style sheet can be found at http://www.sheffieldfurniture.com/styles.css and the site of course is http://www.sheffieldfurniture.com Thanks in advance everyone

NOTE: The top menu on my page is FLASH so obviously that DOES work, I’m having trouble with all the non flash ones :) (bottom of the page as well as all the submenus on the pages)

Posted: 05 June 2008 03:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2008-06-05

Hi!

In firefox 2.0.0.14 on XP your hover tag works (bottom menu) and it also works on IE 7.0.5730.13

However I think I have found an error in your css?

a img { border-style:none;

if you want that to apply to a and img tags you need a comma

However I suspect you want it to apply to image tags that are links and I’m not entirely clear how you would do that.
This does work a:hover.yourStyleName if you want to set the a:hover settings for img this doesn’t seem to work a:link/img

Posted: 05 June 2008 08:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  38
Joined  2007-09-03

I checked out your page in Firefox 1.5 and 2.0.0.14, Opera 9.1, Safari for Windows and IE6.  No problems with any of them - your links work just fine.

A few points regarding your stylesheet