1 of 3
1
IE6 - drop-down menus appear *behind* select elements
Posted: 10 April 2009 03:45 AM   [ Ignore ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2008-07-21

Hello Guys,

I have been trying to bring my drop down navigation on top of all the object lying on the webpage. However in IE6 select object always comes above my dropdown.
Did anyone encountered such kind of issue, do you have any answer to this kind of bug.

Thanks
Rajesh

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 July 2009 01:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2009-07-13

It’s been a while but may help somebody....

All you need to do is prior to the revealing of the dropdown element absolutely position an iframe, styled transparent & to the dimensions of the subsequent menu, also ensuring that the z-index order of the elements are correct, eg form : 1, iframe : 2, menu ul : 3. There are plenty of lightweight javascript libraries that go a long way to automating this so reducing your coding of browser specific tweaks. Search suckerfish, superfish drop down menus for example

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 August 2009 06:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2009-08-09

Did anyone encountered such kind of issue, do you have any answer to this kind of bug.
simulation taux banque credit immobilier de France - Credit immobilier de France, simulation credit immobilier. Résultat mitigé pour le crédit immobilier de France.simulation taux banque credit immobilier de France

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 September 2009 01:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2009-09-26

It’s been a while but may help somebody....

All you need to do is prior to the revealing of the dropdown element absolutely position an iframe, styled transparent & to the dimensions of the subsequent menu, also ensuring that the z-index order of the elements are correct, eg form : 1, iframe : 2, menu ul : 3. There are plenty of lightweight javascript libraries that go a long way to automating this so reducing your coding of browser specific tweaks. Search suckerfish, superfish drop down menus for example

Thanks I tried it and it looks so nice.

kursky11
Dossier de surendettement

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2009 01:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2009-10-22

You might want to look in to using the z-index. The problem with such things is usually how browsers display the webpage. I sae some good info on CSSPLAY.co.uk on this you might want to check that out.

Good Luck

Pick Up Lines That Work

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 November 2009 09:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2009-11-30
Trevon Wright - 04 November 2009 01:26 PM

You might want to look in to using the z-index. The problem with such things is usually how browsers display the webpage. I sae some good info on CSSPLAY.co.uk on this you might want to check that out.

Good Luck

Pick Up Lines That Work

Thanks for the post re: z-index, the timing was perfect.  I’ll be sure to check back next time I encounter a issue.  Thanks!

Reverse Phone Lookup

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 December 2009 07:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2009-12-19

I have the same problem with my blog site, that’s why i just removed the drop down menu. I will be trying if these tips will work for my design. As for now, the simple nav bar will do.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 December 2009 04:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2008-07-21

Thanks for your help ‘apoole7’

It just worked like a charm :)

Thanks again!
Rajesh Trilokhria

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 January 2010 11:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2010-01-04

Isn’t it better to install the IE7 or IE8 and get wholesome benefits....

_______________
business directory | Promotional Products | adjustable beds

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 January 2010 01:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2010-01-23

Really a educative and informative post, the post is good in all regards,I am glad to read this post.

Joliese tan

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 January 2010 05:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2010-01-29

The problem with such things is usually how browsers display the webpage, that’s why I just removed the drop down menu. I will be trying if these tips will work for my design. As for now, the simple nav bar will do.

Corporate gifts | Promotional Merchandise | Promotional Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 February 2010 06:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2010-02-09

I have used an example from one of those javascript menu sites tested in IE and firefox then modified it for my site.. It saves alot of time over trying to get the right code for IE and firefox

promotional gifts | promotional pens

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 February 2010 06:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2010-02-16

It is a IE6 bug, not a CCK module bug. IE6 renders the input selects at top of any web element ignoring the CSS z-index property. The only solution avaiable is to hide the ‘select’ elements with Javascript when the drop-down is showing and enable it after selecting the option in the drop-down.
You can also add an iframe below the dropdown… as iframes and flash lay over the select. Nevertheless - this is a IE6 bug for sure.
___________________
Techstore are specialists in a range of Corporate Gifts Services.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 April 2010 10:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Sr. Member
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  133
Joined  2010-04-23

You could try the z-index, but this most likely an issue with the object tag. Try to make it transparent by adding
<param name=”wmode” value=”transparent”>
____________________
sudoku - social - puppies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 May 2010 05:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2010-04-20

thanks for info dude

vhskid By Igec

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 June 2010 08:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2010-06-01

i too had similar problem with IE-6 so i started using firefox instead

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 3
1