Overflow: visible not working with textarea
Posted: 26 February 2007 04:35 PM   [ Ignore ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2007-02-26

Hi, I’m trying to resolve an issue where I cannot get the Overflow: visible to work with textareas.
We’re working on several sites that have a user-defined description field, where the description appears in a textarea. A textarea was used so line breaks will be properly displayed.

Problem is, even when using Overflow: visible property, it will not overflow.
Here is the site, you can clearly see the issue in the description field:
http://www.bellabellaboutique.com/public_store_product.php?prd_key=b98af60cc7

I think it’s set to “Scroll” right now - but when testing locally with Visible, it does not work.

I’m open to suggestions - I tried the same with a Div layer instead of textarea and it worked, but the Div layer solution ignores line breaks and spacing.

ps - Forgot to mention that it will work in Ie7 if I remove the Doctype from the page - but will that affect the site negatively, or make it not work in certain browsers?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 February 2007 02:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2007-02-24

might i recommend using instead of <textarea> for this? i think it’s more intended for what you want here, just class/style the tag as you would with a <div>

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 February 2007 02:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2007-02-26

Never heard of before, I’ll take a look. But, for what’s it’s worth (and hours of tinkering) I finally got it to work in Ie - but it doesn’t work in FF (the best I could muster was a fixed height scrollbar)

What I did was:
- Change doctype to:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC “-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN”>
- Use position: relative so it wouldn’t cover other elements.

That’s it!

The results…
http://www.bellabellaboutique.com/public_store_product.php?prd_key=85d100c005

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 February 2007 02:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2007-02-24
hodgejr - 27 February 2007 02:19 AM

Never heard of before, I’ll take a look. But, for what’s it’s worth (and hours of tinkering) I finally got it to work in Ie - but it doesn’t work in FF (the best I could muster was a fixed height scrollbar)

What I did was:
- Change doctype to:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC “-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN”>
- Use position: relative so it wouldn’t cover other elements.

That’s it!

The results…
http://www.bellabellaboutique.com/public_store_product.php?prd_key=85d100c005

indeed,  is for pre-formatted text, which is exactly what you’re after i think :)

Profile